over thinking, pregnancy

Research Is Not Always Helpful…

I wouldn’t say being a mom of one is easy, but I do know that it is easier than being a mom of two. How do I know that? Research is how.

At 7 weeks pregnant last time, I was scouring the shelves for What To Expect When You’re Expecting, Belly Laughs, The Mother of All Pregnancy Books, and Your Pregnancy Week by Week. I needed to know what was going on with my body. I craved the information these books provided. I lived and breathed their guidance. This time around around? I know I’m going to gain weight, but I know that the age old saying “eating for two” shouldn’t actually be applied. I know how to change a diaper and burp a baby. And I know that the baby will cry and sometimes there won’t be anything I can do except walk away from the crib while I still have my sanity.

So if I know what I’m doing, and I know how to prepare, why on Earth am I researching the transition from one child to two? Millions of moms have done it before me, so it can’t possibly be that horrific or we wouldn’t do it. It must be some form of self torture.

You get the moms that say “going from one to two is easy, you already know everything so none to one is much harder” and then you have the moms that say “two is horrible, there is a reason for the saying one and done”. I’ve read both types of blogs, I’ve seen the youtube videos, and I’ve read all the statuses and after all that? I still can’t find a middle camp.

Cameron was an easy baby. He would cry, but my check list of cold, wet/dirty, hungry, or bored would take care of it. He was more than happy to sleep in his car seat and he was content to be left at daycare. My friend C who has two had an easy first child as well. He second however, is another story.

I know I have plenty of time to figure things out, but I am a planner and I am so worried about being able to handle two. Someone tell me it’s okay to be okay? Until then, I think I’m going to lay off Pinterest and Google because I’m only stressing myself out more and wondering if I reaaaaaally want two kids.

Standard

Leave a Reply

