over thinking, pregnancy, weekly update

31 Weeks & Officially High Risk

Good morning folks! I’m 31 weeks today…. finally almost there. Only two more months and 4 days to go! At least if I’m allowed to go to full term anyways.
31weeks
How far along? 31 weeks this morning.
Total weight gain: At my doctors appointment last Thursday I have gained a total of 16 pounds. I’m technically 2 pounds over where I should be, but she didn’t say too much about it, so I’m not overly worried.
Maternity clothes? Entirely maternity clothes. In the picture above the shirt is from Thyme Maternity and the jeans are Old Navy Maternity.
Stretch marks? My old ones are starting to show more, so I’m expecting new ones between this update and my next.
Sleep: What’s sleep?! I did too much last week and hurt my back/side so I’m still healing from that. I’m not sleeping much because between being sore from that and from pregnancy, I just cannot stay comfortable.
Best moment this week: Finding out that instead of having a baby shower this time around, the pizza party I was planning for my two other pregnant friends is now a three way crazy baby lady party!
Worst moment this week: Hearing that even though my uterus was measuring properly, I needed to give in and see a high risk doctor. (See below for more info.)
Miss anything? A solid night’s sleep.
Movement: Movement seems to have slowed down a bit. It’s not so much kicks anymore as it is rotating type movements.
Food cravings: I’m not really craving anything, I’m just too lazy to cook lately so junk and pre-made meals are my go-to.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Still if I cough too hard. Thankfully though, my cough is almost completely GONE!
Gender: He’s a boy.
Labor signs: No overall signs… but to be honest since I was induced last time, I’m not really sure what I’m looking for anyhow.
Symptoms: I’m just a full blown pregnant woman now. I waddle, I’m gassy, and my moods change faster than a prostitute can drop her underwear.
Belly button in or out? It’s almost completely flat now thankfully.
Wedding rings on or off? They’re now on a necklace.
Happy or moody most of the time: I am mostly happy, but don’t you dare say the wrong thing or I will just flip into claws or tears.
Looking forward to: Our baby not shower shower, and hearing what the high risk doctor has to say.
I know I’ve mentioned before that with my first son I had severe preeclampsia, but I don’t think I really went into detail on what they wanted to do about it with this pregnancy. My doctor had wanted me to take Aspirin on the lowest dose along with calcium daily. That hasn’t happened because pills make me vomit. Even taking a Tylenol triggers my gag reflex. I also always do my own research before I blindly listen to my doctor. It’s not that I don’t trust her, it’s just that I feel I am responsible for my body (and T’s now too) so I want to know the risks and benefits. I didn’t feel that Apirin was right for me, especially since studies varied and there wasn’t a straight yes or no on it helping preeclampsia. Another factor was that I have the same partner (my husband) for both babies. The risk is higher if it’s a different father (though that still doesn’t make any sense in my head). Therefore I haven’t taken either medications that were recommended.
That combined with my failed glucose test seemed like enough for my doctor to go from saying “No, you’re not getting a 32 week ultrasound” to “I need you to get this ultrasound and see a high risk OBGYN”. She didn’t explain exactly why I’m seeing him/her but that is my conclusion. The hospital called yesterday and my appointment is set for Tuesday morning. I will have an ultrasound at that appointment (I’m guessing to see what they’re working with) and then my appointment. I also have an ultrasound on the 1st for my regular doctor. I haven’t heard how my second glucose test went yet, but I assume that at one of my appointments next week I will be informed of the results.
I’ll post a quick update if anything major happens between my two appointments and two ultrasounds next week.
Until 33 weeks…
Standard

Leave a Reply

